Son of Bernard Henrich Feldhaus and Maria Catharina Feldhaus
Born:     Minster, Germany in 1850
Died:     Lawrenceburg, TN April 29, 1931
Henry Feldhaus was born in Minster, Germany in 1850.   He came to the US from Germany aboard the ship Herman, arriving
at Castle Garden, NY on April 25, 1868.   Arriving with him were his parents, his younger sisters, Gertrude, age 9, and
Anna Therese, age 8, and his younger brother Bernhard, age 4.   They left Germany on April 11, requiring 14 days to make
the passage.   We have heard that his parents came to the US so their son would not have to fight in the wars of German
unification that Bismark was undertaking at that time.
He was 17 when he arrived in the U.S.   The family came
to Cincinnati, Ohio, where there were a number of German Catholics.   They and others bought land outside Lawrenceburg
Tennessee, and moved there with their families in 1870.
He was a brick mason by trade, specializing in building furnaces
for iron mines in the immediate area and across the south. He also did general brick construction.
In 1883, at the age of 33, he was married to Mary Schneider.   The union produced eleven children, three of whom died
The Henry Feldhaus family at home about 1908
Row 4: (Henry) Joseph Feldhaus, Catherine (Cate) Feldhaus
Row 3: (Mary) Ann Feldhaus, John Charles (Charlie) Feldhaus, (Rose) Feldhaus, (Ann) Theresa Feldhaus
Row 2: (Henry) Bernard Feldhaus Jr., George Schneider, (Mary) Ann Schneider Feldhaus
Row 1: Clara Feldhaus, (Lawrence) Bernard Feldhaus
At the age of 52 he built a house on several acres of land at the corner of Groh and Buffalo Road in 1902 and resided there
with his family until he passed away on April 20, 1931 at 80 years of age.
Feldhaus House on Groh Street at the corner of Buffalo Road in Lawrenceburg, TN
Written by Kathleen Sudduth Niedergeses, 1994
When Henry Feldhaus, Jr. and family moved to Lawrenceburg, they rented the old Martin Lithard house from Mr. and Mrs. Frietch.
This house was located on lot 57 in the German Addition.   The house faced Berger Street and was one lot east of
Fisher Alley.   The south side of the lot bounded on Selle Alley which runs between Berger Street and Deller Street.
This means it was across from the house that Sis Kemper lives in now (1994).
On September 18, 1901 Henry and Mary Ann Feldhaus bought the property on the corner of Groh Street and Buffalo Road from F.
J. Wolz for $550.   This lot had been the old parsonage property and was bought by Mr. Wolz at auction on May 5, 1901
for $550.   Before this the land, along with a majority of the German Addition property, had belonged to the Bentley farm.
I have been told (even though Mr. Feldhaus did not mention the fact in his journal) that he first had to move the Bentley
house back and later used it as a barn.
A large orchard lay to the east of where the house was to be built with two fruit trees of every kind. Mr. Feldhaus had to
clear out some of the dead trees and cut down a few trees.
In early 1902 the house was started.   Many loads of sand were hauled by Mr. A. E. Black while Mr. Russell hauled gravel.
Rock was taken from Mr. Hovelmeier field for concrete. Brick was purchased from Mr. Boulie. Loads of lime were brought
in.   Lumber was purchased from Fleeman Brothers and Mr. Morgan Spence.
On April 7, 1902, Mr. Feldhaus staked off the house and located where the cellar and cistern were to be dug by Mr. Gaul/Gault.
In June the cistern was finished and gutters put up.   Around the first of July work on the cellar was started.
By the last of July work began on the foundation.
Mr. Feldhaus contracted John Frietch to do the carpenter work
and painting.   The sash and doors were made of coarse poplar.   The shingles were of yellow poplar. The house was
to have three coats of paint on the outside, two coats of paint on the inside, and two coats of paint on the roof.   The
outside walls of the house were double bricked and had solid brick partitions.   Gingerbread trim adorned the front porch.
Inside the house Mr. Frietch was to make three wardrobe closets, one pantry and china cabinet combined, and one bookcase.
Two stairways were built on the inside1 one just inside the front door to the right and one leading off the kitchen
in the back of the house.   One stairway was built to the cellar with the house over the entrance to the cellar.
A hallway ran all the way through the middle of the house with an outside entrance in the back from the hail and from the
kitchen.   The bathroom was in the back of the house.
A picket fence was built around the yard.
Prices for some of the supplies: doors and windows $50; brick $200; cement $20; lime $25; Mr. Frietch for carpenter work
Mr. Charles Kamarad and his wife, Theresa Schneider, who was a sister to Mrs. Feldhaus, Built their home from
the same plan as did the Feldhauses.   Their home was built on Brink Street.
Naturalization Papers of Henry Feldhaus
Application of Citizenship of Henry Feldhaus
Obituary of Henry Feldhaus
I have five things that belonged to Henry Bernard Feldhaus, Jr.   They are shown in the pictures below.